Tags

, , , , , ,

Remember that fox fabric I shared in my first and only stash post? I mentioned that I wanted to make a pair of sleep shorts with it sometime. Well sometime happened sooner then later. I decided I could just whip them up real quick while I am on my stay vacation. So in order to do this I decided to use an online pattern I found instead of making my own. However, this didn’t really lend itself to time saving. The pattern edges were cut off/missing no matter how I printed the pdf. So in the end I had to kind of make my own pattern. Let me show you how I did it.Here is the tutorial and pattern I was trying to follow.

This is what the pattern is supposed to look like assembled. Notice how it says “boxer shorts” inside the pattern pieces.

correctly assembled pattern

What the pattern assembled should look like. Oops I am sideways!

As a side note, the little block to make sure it printed to size actually measured correctly as a 2″ square block once printed.

2015-11-18 09.15.48

Where is the “oxer s”?

It appears that the pattern printed correctly from top to bottom as far as I can guess. But left to right there are clear signs of missing pattern design.

Guess I am just going to have to fill in the blanks.

To do this I needed:

  • Sharpie
  • Ruler
  • Ruled cutting mat
  • Wax paper
  • masking tape
  • Scissors

I love using wax paper to make pattern pieces. It is cheap, readily available, marks well, and is transparent.  Laying the printed pattern pieces on the cutting mat, I roughly guessed how mach space would be needed to fill in the “oxer s” on the pattern pieces. I taped the printed pattern pieces down to the mat so they would not move to much. Next I taped together some sheets of waxed paper so the piece was big enough to cover the pattern pieces. I then taped the waxed paper down over the printed pieces. I free hand traced and used my ruler to copy the lines of the pattern and connect the two printed pattern pieces.

2015-12-06 19.04.44

Filling in the blank-Copying the pattern.

As you can see I traced the small and medium sizes because I wasn’t sure which size I was going to go with. Remember to copy all the markings, like the grain line marks etc when copying a pattern. Repeat the steps for the other side. Now I have front and back pattern pieces and it is time to cut out the fabric.

On rare occasions I have made small pattern pieces on craft paper, which works o.k. but it’s not very flexible. And it is hard to trace with unless you have a light table. What are your favorite materials to copy or make pattern pieces on?

So this project has taken longer than just whipping it up. Coming soon: Making my fox shorts!

