Tags

, , , , ,

I have this strapped tank shirt that I purchased from Alloy hanging around in my closet. I loved it with the beading on the front and unusual color combination (in my opinion). image

But I never wore it because the straps just weren’t long enough and the top cut into my armpits, making the most unflattering creases and rolls. The straps are just fancy satin bias tape so I figured that I could cut them open , make more bias tape, and add to them so the shirt fit better. Off to my local Joann Fabrics I went, shirt in hand, to match the straps color with a similar fabric.

image

I was pleasantly surprised to find a very close in color satin and I left with a quarter yard of the fabric figuring I would have a lot of left over bias tape to play with later. I was excited for my little project because I saw a tutorial to cut continuous bias tape  that I wanted to try and I also have the Simplicity bias tape maker sitting around my craft room collecting dust.61dp1kx3ojl-_sl1142_ However, nothing went right with my “simple” project. For my first attempt at making continuous bias tape I started with the square method as outlined here:

https://blog.colettehq.com/tutorials/continuous-bias-tape-tutorial

I cut off a square of fabric from one end of my fabric and then cut the square as shown to make the parallelogram. I made my marks and attempted to sew the roll but could not get my marks to line up well. The tube of fabric created was really small and my bias tape would have a lot of seams in it as well. I scrapped this attempt. I still had a long rectangle of fabric left for attempt number two. Since I did not want to cut another square I moved on to a tutorial that used a rectangle.

http://whip-stitch.com/continuous-bias-tape-tutorial/

I made my second parallelogram and moved on to measuring out my lines…..the wrong way!

2015-12-03 21.10.24

Everyone meet Archie.

This handsome ( I want your attention right Meow!) fellow may have had something to do with it. But I should have known better than to leave my craft room and work on the living room floor so I could watch a movie at the same time. Notice that pink sharpie. There is the second problem. I figured I was making double fold bias tape so any marker marks would be hidden inside. Now I could not correct my mistake and wasted a quarter yard of fabric.

Out of frustration and the fact that I was not going to try to find this fabric again, I cut two long strips out of the fabric following my lines to make the straps. Now the straps would not be on the bias obviously. So hopefully I won’t come across any unwanted side effects from my screw up.

I pulled out the bias tape maker and wound the first strip onto the wheel. I inserted the correct sized tip I wanted to use into the machine and pulled the fabric through. The tips I have only make single fold tape so I figured I would just fold it in half and iron it by hand or maybe try sending it back through the machine. Well the first run did not pan out well. Even though I had the machines iron set for a synthetic material, it was not hot enough to fold the satin material crisply and straight. I turned it up to the highest setting and tried out another strip. At this point I didn’t much care if the material scorched in spots, I just want it to fold correctly and evenly.  It came out all wonky and from time to time got stuck under the iron, however not burned. I threw in the towel at this point and moved forward making the straps the old fashion way. I sewed a long skinny tube with the right side of the fabric together. I turned the tube with right sides out and ironed the fabric. Unfortunately these straps were not exactly the same size as the existing straps so the seam where the old meets new is not best connection.
image

Now after all my mess ups making these simple straps, I am not too keen on starting over. Now the question is: Do I just live with my less than perfect fix? Or do I try something else? Or can I cover the junction with something to hide it?

Any suggestions?

 

