Tags

, , , , ,

My sleeping patterns have been a bit off. It feels like I would function so much better with a nap in the middle of the day. But that is not going to happen at work, so it hasn’t been unusual for me to sit down once getting back home and passing out for a few hours. Sometimes I can’t go back to sleep at a normal hour when this happens. Other times I can go back to sleep, but I wake up at an awful hour in the morning. That is exactly what happened. I found myself wide awake at 4 a.m. Tossing and turning I pondered what I could do that didn’t require a lot of technical thought. I hopped out of bed and wandered into the sewing/crafty space. I have a clothing rack of works in progress or things to get to someday which I pushed through. That is how I came across this!

2016-01-31 03.44.41

Oh vest, how you have been missing your buttons!

So this is a vintage vest I stole off of my mother years ago. I have never worn it because  it is missing buttons. I intended to use the button covering kits you can pick up at a craft store to make the additional buttons needed, but found that finding a matching velvet was harder than you would think. It’s black velvet, any would do right? Nope, shade and thickness of the velvet became an issue. So this vest has been hanging literally on my to-do list for a lot longer than I care to admit. However, replacing buttons is the perfect project for sleepless nights. Out came the plethora of buttons I have been accumulating.

2016-01-31 03.45.39

Pile o’ buttons. These were just the contenders!

In the end I selected these interesting metal buttons.

2016-01-31 03.45.14

I then plopped myself on the couch, put on How to Train your Dragon 2, and contently replaced the remaining buttons with the replacements.

2016-01-31 13.49.40

Finished work!

Sleepless night saved! Finished a project off the to-do rack and have something new to wear!

However since I felt accomplished so early in the day, I wanted to be crafty at home instead of going to work.

