Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I have been hibernating lately as the temperature has dropped into the negatives. Great time to sew and clean up the crafting space. So I completed my fox sleep shorts.

2016-01-30 16.40.23

Finished shorts!

After basically remaking the free “save me time” pattern from online, I cut out the pieces from the fox cotton fabric I purchased a bit ago. (see previous post on fixing this pattern)2015-12-06 19.04.44This is a super easy project for beginners as it only has four pieces.

It’s optional, but I serged all the edges of the pieces to prevent fraying. If you don’t have a serger, you can use a zig-zag stitch to help keep the fabric from fraying with wearing and washing. From there I connected the front pieces together at the center seam and then the back pieces together at their center seam. From there I placed the right sides together and sewed up the side seams and the crotch. Now to finish the legs and add a waist band. I started with the legs as I find it annoying to hem once the top is all bunched up with the waist band. I folded under the serged ends just past the stitch and pinned. I suppose I could have ironed the serged end under, but I don’t get along with irons the best. My steamer has saved my fingers….and my clothes. Next I folded to the wrong side an inch of fabric. I used my measured hem clip to help me make them perfect.

122201-i_need_these_hem_clips__measure_and_hold_hemming_projects_without_pins

Measured Hem Clips…..Great little gadgets

I sewed over top of the folded under serged edge and pulled the pins and hem clips as I went.

2016-01-30 15.35.43

Finishing up a leg

Ta dah! Pretty leg seam. Now I just repeated everything for the other leg. Now it is time to finish the waist to add some elastic. Again I folded to the wrong side the serged edge and pinned. I then folded to the wrong side and used my measured hem clips to make sure the channel for the elastic was 1.5″ so my 1″ elastic would fit nicely through.

2016-01-30 16.04.42

Sewing the waist down for the elastic.

Make sure you leave an opening so you can pull the elastic through. Using my bodkin I pulled my pre-measured through the channel. Once I had the elastic all the way through, I made sure my elastic did not twist in the channel and then sewed the ends of the elastic together. To do this I over lapped an inch of the elastic and sewed a box using a straight stitch, locking my end. Always nice to pull on this connection a couple of times to just make sure it is secure. I then pushed the seamed elastic into the channel and finished sewing the channel down.

2016-01-30 16.40.23

Finished shorts!

Now it is time to try on and snuggle up!

After wearing these I do have two complaints. The first being I could have cut the small and had less fabric bunched up around my waist. Second I do not like how the legs kinda wing out. Some slight adjustments to my pattern will correct these issues the next time I make some new shorts. Interestingly, the pattern matches along the center seams in spots or is sooo close and I didn’t even try!

2016-01-30 16.40.51

The pattern is so close to lining up!

The side seams not so much because of the “wing ” effect.

2016-01-30 16.41.38

Side seams…..not even close

Does this bother me? Nope. Am I feeling foxy for Valentine’s day? You betcha! 🙂

Happy Valentine’s Day Everyone!

