Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

If you are like me, your sewing machine has a plethora of fabulous stitches and fancy feet, and you use maybe 5 of the stitches and two of the feet.  I have decided that I really should at least try out all the options my machine has. So I decided it was time to try out the blind hem stitch. I decided a skirt with an elastic waist band was a quick and easy project to accomplish in an afternoon and I could try out this stitch. To my fabric stash I went and because I was felling a little festive this weekend, I pulled out the red fabric with velvet polka dots for the project.

2015-11-22 12.18.19

Materials used

This was a remnant pieces I picked up a few month ago. I believe it was a little shy of a full yard and it 45″ wide. I decided around 18″ finished would be a fine length for me so I cut off a 20″ piece of fabric off the original length. The remaining piece went back into the fabric stash for some future project. The piece I am working with is a big rectangle now and I ran the edges through the serger. I then folded it right sides together and sewed the two short edges together with a straight stitch.  Time to hem! Using my measured hem clips I folded to the wrong side an inch of material. I didn’t include the serged fabric into my measurement. 2015-11-22 12.39.54

I then folded the fabric down to the right of the fabric leaving the serged edge sticking up over the fold. To hold the fold in place I just stuck my hem clips back in place. Time to get out the right presser foot and set my machine to do the blind hem stitch. I had to ponder for a moment how to run the fabric under the presser foot so the stitch was on the right side and catching the right part of the material. Thankfully the bulk of the fabric didn’t go under the sewing arm.

 

Once all the way around you just undo the last fold and pull it flat.

2015-12-12 15.56.32

Such a pretty finish!

Now it is time to gather the skirt fabric and prepare the elastic waste band. Time to change the presser foot back to the basic one. I measured a length of the 2″ elastic and sewed the two ends together. To gather the waist side I sewed a straight stitch around the top after adjusting the stitch length to the longest setting.

2015-11-22 12.33.30

Getting ready to gather!

Once I had gone all the way around I folded the fabric and fourths and marked the folds. I did the same with the elastic. I then pulled the bobbin thread of the stitch and slowing gathered the fabric. I did not gather it to my waist side but left it much wider and tried to keep it pretty equal in gathers. Remember the skirt waist band needs to stretch to go either over your shoulders or hips. I then pinned the skirt to the elastic waist band at the marked points. I set my machine for a long zig-zag stitch and sewed on the top side of the elastic. I just pulled the elastic until the fabric ran underneath the elastic without any gaping or hanging fabric as I went around.

finishedskirtfront

Finished Skirt!

You can fold the fabric and waist band into more sections so you have more points to match up prior to sewing. It is also less to pull straight at one time.  My biggest problem with attaching the waist band was keeping the tension on the elastic consistent. So my stitch is a little wonky. Unfortunately the stitch does not show up well on photo to show you the less than perfect attachment. This skirt is just for me so I didn’t feel the need to redo it, but I definitely would not give it to someone the way I sewed it. I also doubt it would be noticed by anyone in person when I wear it. There are also a few different stitches I can try out the next time I am attaching an elastic waist band.

I am in love with the blind hem stitch. It makes the finish so much nicer then just running a straight stitch around the bottom of a skirt. I am thinking about taking out the hem of another skirt I made too big to see if this finish works on a curved bottom skirt or a circle skirt.

Overall, not a bad skirt for a little over an hour of time start to finish!

skirtsidebyside

Front and Back

