Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,


It’s time to show off my April makes!  Aside from making a few things for myself I completed 5 commissions.

The first commission completed for the month were some Mickey ears featuring R2D2.

Next I reupholstered two dining room chairs. Unfortunately I didn’t get the best photos of them.

My third commission for the month was a flapper inspired dress for a themed party. I made the pattern myself! I am very happy with how it turned out!

It is such a gorgeous color!  It has sheer gussets at the bottom so it swings nicely. The drop back and the sheer draped panels are my favorite! The panels are decorated with rhinestones at the top.

The rhinestone pieces are actually pairs of earrings I found. I cut the posts off them with a pair of jewelry wire cutters.  I then needed to file the backs a bit to make sure all the post was gone. And lastly, I hand sewed them on. The dress is fully lined and has an invisible zipper at the side.

My fourth commission was a pair of performance shorts inspired by Harley Quinn from Suicide Squad.

These presented and interesting conundrum.  When using the serger, what color thread do I use?  For where the two colors touched I used both red and blue.  In constructing each leg,  I used all red or all blue.  I spent a lot of time switching threads out on my machines.

My final commission was a half circle skirt for an Ariel costume for an elementary school play.

Now on to things I made as trials/for myself!

I​ made Star Wars themed Mickey ears!

I don’t have a real reason to make these for myself, ( aside from they are cute) but I am sure they will come in handy someday.

If it hard to tell in the photos, I embellished the stars on the blue pair with rhinestones so they sparkled and added a Mickey head in black rhinestones on the BB8 pair. I enjoy making these, I hope I am inspired to make some more. Anyone what to send me to Disney? 🙂

